The Catholic University of America


 

 

 

 

Students on the Mount

Students on the Mount is a student organization inspiring the campus community to learn about Catholic Social Teaching and to work on behalf of justice
 

 

Weekly Meetings, Fall 2013

Fridays, 5:00- 6:00 pm Campus Ministry Lounge or Pryz Food Court
Open to all CUA students
Contact: Liz Miller, President 46miller@cardinalmail.cua.edu

 

Supper and Social Justice

Each month, Students on the Mount hosts a supper and discussion focusing on one of the Catholic Church's Social Teachings.  Faculty and Staff guest speakers provide input on the topic and students have an opportunity for reflection, discussion and action planning.

 

Fall Supper and Social Justice Calendar

  • September 24 - 6;30 - 8:00 pm      Caldwell Auditorium  Topic: Immigration and unaccompanied children at the US/Mexico border
  • October 30 -  6:30 - 8:00 pm  -  topic and location to be announced
  • November 16-22  Hunger and Homelessness Awareness Week  See special flyers and announcements about this week long program including a Supper and Soical Justice evening on November 19

 Helping Others both at Home and Abroad

 

Jamaican Mission Trip 

Bro. Jim Moore, OFM Conv.  Campus Minister for Social Justice and International Mission Trips 

seen here with a new best friend in KIngston, Jamaica

Bridget Scott, former President of SOTM 
took the time to help this young boy on her mission trip to Kingston, Jamaica
 
 
For more information on upcoming Mission Trips, please visit service.cua.edu/trips/index.cfm

 

 
 
 

 

 

Officers

 

President:

 

Liz Miller (46miller@cardinalmail.cua.edu)

Vice President:

Christiana Gillert (31gellert@cardinalmail.cua.edu)

Secretary:

Rachel Potter (41potter@cardinalmail.cua.edu)

Treasurer:

Josh Petrillo (37petrillo@cardinalmail.cua.edu)

Marketing/PR:

Cameron Daniels (45daniels@cardinalmail.cua.edu)

Formation:

Joe Cuda (48cuda@cardinalmail.cua.edu)

Advisor:

 Brother Jim Moore, OFM Conv. (moorej@cua.edu)